Is it Sculpture?

I’ve never been completely comfortable calling a nicely designed object, art. For decades museums and galleries have held exhibitions of items that the average person wouldn’t normally consider as art. Of course, part of the fun is trying to decide where the “line” between art and non-art is. In the right mood, I can also see the argument that there is no such line.

The latest item that rekindled this debate for me, was a post I saw about a couch being marketed as an “Outdoor Interactive Chair And Art Piece”. Apparently they have been installed in a couple of resorts. I’m sure they are very nice and imagine that most guests would enjoy the view while setting in them. I’m just not sure I’d call it sculpture.

Source: http://www.treehugger.com/culture/etazin-sculptural-spinning-outdoor-sculpture-kate-brown.html

