My Approach to Working with Clients on Commissions

A fun approach to commision work is to see it as a joint project. I especially like the idea of checking out the works the client already owns and letting that influence the project .
Sounds like a blast….

gary scott's sculpture blog

happyclientI do love it when someone enjoys my work enough to want to invest in it at a gallery or exhibition – it gives you a kind of affirmation I guess; but for me there is no greater joy than being commissioned to undertake a bespoke sculpture.  The client will have seen my work and feel inspired enough to want to have one of my sculptures made specifically for them and usually situated in a particular place.detail

Commissioning leads to a special relationship which I not only enjoy but influences me and takes my work in unanticipated directions – after all no two briefs are ever the same and of course the locations differ enormously.

Rhythmic Form2I always go into a new commission with an open mind and look to respond to the site specifically and also to draw upon the tastes and aspirations of my client – what style is their home, what artists do they admire and what do they have on their…

View original post 184 more words

