Blender 2.7

Blender has released a new version; 2.70. Just like the application itself, most of the enhancements to blender aren’t of interest to me since my focus is on 3D modeling and not animation or game design.

What did pique my interest is the revamp of its user interface. As luck has it, I’ve barely gotten started with my learning curve. So, I don’t have a lot invested in the old UI.

The revamped user interface now comes with a tabbed toolbar, allowing users to organize tools into categories, while support for editing multiple buttons at once has also been added. The Transform tools also gain a mode for entering expressions and units. Other changes were done to improve lists, header menus, tooltips, buttons, menus and more.

Improvements to the modeling include:

The Laplacian Deform modifier was added to pose a mesh while preserving geometric details of the surface, and a new wireframe modifier allows you transform your mesh into a wireframe representation. The boolean modifier now supports ngons, and there are improvements to the bevel, screw and triangulate modifiers. The bevel tool now offers more control over the bevel profile and results, and the knife tool was improved as well.

At this point in my learning, the majority of the above went over my head. I was thinking of making a snarky remark about finally supporting ngons (because I haven’t a clue what they are). Turns out that an ngon is a polygon with more than four sides. The thought of applying boolean logic to a polygon underscores, for me, how much I have yet to learn.

I’m not sure if the 64-bit version is a new offering or not but I’m off to download it. If any reader is aware of a good tutorial for the new UI features, please share it in the comments… thanks.

Source: http://betanews.com/2014/03/20/blender-debuts-new-features-improved-performance-and-better-ui/

64-bit download: http://www.downloadcrew.com/article/21725-blender_64-bit

