Lower Cost 3D Printers

Like most new markets, finding the right mixture of price and functionality is key to expanding the customer base. I don’t claim to have any insight on the optimal price point but I can tell you I found this item, reporting on Makerbot’s new printers announced at CES, vaguely insulting. The Smartplanet writer claims that for the “home print enthusiast” a $1,375 printer is “aggressively priced”. Then they go on to say that $2,000 is “outside of the price range of the average household.”

That very well may be correct but somehow drawing a line in the sand over an extra $600, managed to rub me the wrong way. Can’t quite put my finger on what irks me about that.

Well as it turns out, their “aggressively priced” promotional plans just got shoved to the turf. A Taiwanese company called XYZprinting just made a quick break up the sideline with their $499 priced printer. Looks like Smartplanet will have to break out the thesaurus and find a different adjective than “aggressive”; “mid range” might be more appropriate. 😀

Source: http://www.engadget.com/2014/01/07/499-3d-printer/?ncid=rss_truncated

One response

Comments are closed.